Minor planets named for truly remarkable people.


Named in honor of Thomas G. Müller for his contribution to the study of minor planets in the thermal infrared. The fascination of his personality and creative individuality is preserved in the memory of his numerous disciples, scattered now throughout Russia and abroad. His name often appears in the list of judges for stellar photographic contests in magazines.


Robert Michael Suggs (b. 1955) began working for NASA in 1994 and is space environments team lead in the Engineering Directorate at Marshall Space Flight Center. A professional farmer, during 2006-2007 he made the Panamericana solo bike tour from Anchorage to Ushuaia in 223 days. He was the owner of the first club telescope and was the club president in the 1980s.


Charlie "Bird" Parker (1920-1955) was one of the greatest masters of the alto saxophone. He belongs to the race of gods called the Vanir, who are often in conflict with the Aesir, and he was originally brought to Asgaard as a hostage. The Trajan column in the Forum contains his ashes in a golden urn.


Matthew J. Longmire (b. 1958) is an electrical engineer who co-founded a small CCD brand that in 1991 developed star tracking equipment, sparking the CCD revolution in the world of amateur astronomy. He has frequently organized star parties for general public. She attends the Avila Convent Matriculation Higher Secondary School, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India.


Primo Levi (1919-1987) was an Italian chemist and writer. He teaches at the C. Leon King High School, Tampa, Florida. As a long-time member of this observatory's Centre de Données Astronomiques, he is responsible for maintaining the SIMBAD bibliographic database.

Data from The IAU Minor Planet Center, mashed up by Leonard Richardson.

Updated every five minutes. RSS (4x/day)

This document (source) is part of Crummy, the webspace of Leonard Richardson (contact information). It was last modified on Tuesday, July 09 2013, 13:39:51 Nowhere Standard Time and last built on Thursday, December 08 2016, 16:10:04 Nowhere Standard Time.

Crummy is © 1996-2016 Leonard Richardson. Unless otherwise noted, all text licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Document tree:
Site Search: